During the last few years of searching the internet, reading various blogs and reviews for games, movies and comics and discussions with other people with similar interests, I have come to one inescapable conclusion: I have no taste.
Any argument I make for the validity of what I like is automatically rendered null by the inescapable truth that I just don't know what is good.
What do I mean? I liked the Star Wars prequels. I enjoyed Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull. I've played through Final Fantasy XIII 3 times. You know, all the things so terrible that they are widely derided as being the worst in their respective franchises. I've read review after review and fan commentaries detailing the many failings on display.
It raised a question. Am I blind to bad entertainment? Or am I a masochist who prides himself on being able to wade through the worst that burnt-out, past their prime, hack creators can offer?
Now, I am aware that there are people in the anonymous recesses of the internet who will pile on to the popular opinions that something sucks. However, there is also a large population of people who are honest in their views and opinions. Figuring out which is which on the internet is a pointless endeavor that will result in even more pointless arguments and copious amounts of trolling. But I digress.
My name is Drew and I have no taste. No matter how flawed, no matter the weight of popular opinion, I enjoy what I enjoy.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment